Harvard's Sensory Ethnography Lab

Foreign Parts

J.P. Sniadecki, Véréna Paravel
France, USA | OmeU
Q&A with:
J.P. Sniadecki
A hidden enclave in the shadow of the New York Mets’ new sta­di­um, the neigh­bor­hood of Wil­lets Point is an indus­tri­al zone fated for demo­li­tion. Filled with scrap­yards and auto … read more

Kale and Kale

Stephanie Spray
USA 2007 | 51 Min. | OmeU
The film explores the subtle every­day inter­ac­tions and rela­tion­ships among an uncle and nephew, both nick­named “Kale,” or “black one,” and their fam­i­lies in rural Nepal. The roles they play … read more
Q&A with:
David MacDougall, Henning Engelke, J.P. Sniadecki
Creative Ethnography of Beings and Things The films by Judith and David Mac­Dougall have had a deci­sive impact on the work of the Sen­so­ry Ethnog­ra­phy Lab. Lucien Cas­taing-Taylor, the founder … read more

Sweetgrass

USA 2009 | 115 Min. | OmU
Q&A with:
David MacDougall, Ilker Çatak, Xingzheng Jin
Sheep – as far as the eye can see. The anthro­pol­o­gists and film­mak­ers Lucien Cas­taing-Taylor and Ilisa Bar­bash spent three sum­mers doc­u­ment­ing sheep farm­ing at one of the last family-owned … read more

The iron ministry

Hamid Jafari, J.P. Sniadecki
USA 2014 | 82 Min. | OmeU
Q&A with:
J.P. Sniadecki
P. Sni­adec­ki, who lived in China for a long time and trav­elled all over the coun­try by train, con­densed the results of these ethno­graph­ic excur­sions into a mul­ti­far­i­ous and col­or­ful … read more

Harvard's Sensory Ethnography Lab

Foreign Parts

J.P. Sniadecki, Véréna Paravel
Frankreich, USA 2010 | 80 Min. | OmeU
Zu Gast: J.P. Sniadecki
Das Schrottgelände am Willets Point im Norden von Queens, eine versteckte Enklave im Schatten des neuen Stadions der New York Mets’, steht kurz vor dem Abriss. Noch pulsiert das Leben … mehr

Kale and Kale

Stephanie Spray
USA 2007 | 51 Min. | OmeU
Der Film untersucht die subtilen alltäglichen Interaktionen und Beziehungen zwischen einem Onkel und Neffen und ihren Familien in einem Dorf in Nepal. Beide sind Musiker und haben denselben Spitznamen „Kale“ … mehr
Zu Gast: David MacDougall, Henning Engelke, J.P. Sniadecki
Kreative Ethnografien der Lebewesen und Dinge Die Filme von Judith und David MacDougall können als entscheidender Bezugspunkt für die Arbeit des Sensory Ethnography Labs gelten. Der Gründer und Leiter des … mehr

Sweetgrass

Ilisa Barbash, Lucien Castaing-Taylor
USA 2009 | 115 Min. | OmU
Zu Gast: David MacDougall
Schafe, soweit das Auge reicht. Die Anthropologen und Filmemacher Lucien Castaing-Taylor und Ilisa Barbash haben drei Sommer lang in den Absaroka-Beartooth Mountains die Schafzucht auf einer der letzten Ranches in … mehr

The iron ministry

J.P. Sniadecki
China, USA 2014 | 82 Min. | OmeU
Zu Gast: J.P. Sniadecki
J.P. Sniadecki hat lange in China gelebt, das Land kreuz und quer mit der Bahn bereist und die Ernte dieser ethnografischen Streifzüge zu einem vielschichtigen und abwechslungsreichen Film verdichtet. Der … mehr